ESP Insider

Registration is open for the IEA One Conference!
Join your fellow ESPs in Oak Brook
Oct. 4–5
DoubleTree by Hilton, 1909 Spring Rd., Oak Brook

Registration fee: $20 per registrant, prior to the event; $30 onsite. The deadline to register is Friday, Sept. 20.
Conference Registration
Room Reservation
Save the date!
Nov. 1-3

IEA Professional Development Center, Springfield

IEA funding available! Scholarship applications are due by Sept. 16.
The ESP Council created the ESP STAR program to allow local leaders to recognize and publicize the good work of their ESP members across the state.

Use the online nomination form to nominate a special ESP member for a STAR Award!

IMRF Trustee election
We need your help to circulate nominating petitions for IEA member Natalie Copper to ensure she can continue to represent our education support professionals (ESPs) on the Illinois Municipal Retirement Fund (IMRF) Board of Trustees.

Download the nominating petition and circulation instructions. Only ACTIVE ESPs may sign the nominating petition.

Natalie (Region 41) is a member of the Evanston Child Care Workers Education Association and works as the site-coordinator at the Before and After School Childcare program in District 65. She is a member of the IEA ESP Council.

ESP member news
Grant Award Agreement
NEA Center for Great Public Schools
State‐Local Project Grant

Affiliate name: District U‐46 Secretarial Association (IL)
Purpose: Secretary Mentoring Program
Award amount: $10,000.00
Term: 1 year (End date: June 30)

Jessica, Carri and Caitlyn are pictured in far right with colleagues from other NEA ESP affiliates at NEA headquarters.

In December 2018, Caitlyn VanDame, Carri Bonine and Jessica Leatherby of the District U-46 Secretarial Association (DUSA) from Elgin, participated in the NEA ESP Mentoring Training Program at NEA Headquarters in Washington, D.C. Upon returning to Illinois, the group shared their learning with local and region representatives and began working on enhancing the bare bones mentoring program that had been developed with the school district. This included applying for an NEA grant to help continue this important work.

The local will use the grant money to seed a more rigorous and skilled mentor program.

Tina Pizzitola and Sara Moeller are paraeducators in Elgin’s U-46 School District. Watch the video: Paraeducators seek recognition with teachers
News from NEA
The NEA RA has formally adopted the term “educators” to cover all members regardless of job categories. Read the new preamble language.
IEA Member Mary Ann Rivera was elected as a member of the NEA Board of Directors.
Rivera is a paraeducator at Lyons Township High School in La Grange and an ESP Council  member.
Want to know what else happened at the NEA-RA this year? Read the final RA Today for a summary of the NEA business items.
Professional and leadership development
NEA ESP Leadership Institute (ESPLI) is a powerful leadership development program, grounded in diversity, equity and cultural competence. Find more information on the NEA website. Deadline to apply is Sept. 13.
Professional development and training opportunities
Check out the list of professional development trainings and webinars being offered this fall.

VideoMaking a difference everyday

ESP Council meetings/assemblies
All ESPs are welcome!
Save these dates and plan to attend an ESP meeting and assembly at an IEA office near you:

  • Nov. 9 – Peoria
  • Feb. 8 – Matteson
  • April 18 – Sterling
  • June 13 – Edwardsville
Minooka office membership kickoff
On Aug. 5, a fabulous group of members attended a membership kickoff hosted at the IEA Minooka office! They spent their day honing their skills to better represent their members.

Topics covered were: Members benefits, getting to know legal, membership processing, IEA communication tools and tricks, IEA elections, tips for starting the year, TRS, IMRF and financial procedures. NEA and IEA staff presented multiple topics and we were honored to have members from area locals present, as well. ESP Council members Patricia Hendrix, Special Education Employees of Grundy County, and Jill Scarcelli, Troy Education Association, were two of the presenters. Also presenting were certified members Jen Silverman, Troy Education Association, and Megan Krull, Braceville Education Association.

#Nosummersoff  #StrongerUnited  #rESPect

Member benefits
Take a look at all the benefits available to members on the IEA website!

Log in to Members Only and access your discounts and deals today!

IEA Connect is here to help! 
Monday –Friday, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Chat, email or call.